Casa Gorordo

twitter facebook Google Plus linkedin RSS feed Email
Instagram


    Casa Gorordo



The Casa Gorordo Museum is a 19th century lifestyle museum and the centerpiece project of the Cultural Heritage Program of the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. The house itself was built in the 1850's and originally owned by Alejandro Cruz de Rosales. It was bought by Juan Isidro Gorordo, a Spanish merchant, in 1863. Four generations of the Gorordo family have lived in this house, including Bishop Juan Gorordo, the first Filipino bishop.

The girth of the structure is evidenced by the massive stonewalls on the lower portion of the house. Made of coral stones, these walls are good protection from fire and typhoon. The huge oak posts of Molave ​​or extend from the basement to support the clay tile roof. Its wide windows of sliding panels are fitted with
 translucent capiz shells.

After it was acquired, the house was first renovation between 1980 and 1981. It was officially opened to the public on December 15, 1983. In 2005, a major renovation was undertaken to replace aging structures. In recognition of the historical and social significance of the houses, the National Historical Institute (NHI) conferred on the Casa Gorordo Museum the title "National Landmark" in 1991.

Walang komento :

Mag-post ng isang Komento

Tandaan: Ang mga kasapi lamang ng blog na ito ang maaaring mag-post ng komento.